Community Trust Bank to Contribute Scholarships to Dallas-Fort Worth Students in Effort to Raise Fraud Awareness

FORT WORTH, TX – May 10, 2012

On May 18, 2012, Community Trust Bank will present eight $500 scholarships, totaling $4,000, in honor of Happy Davis at the 22nd Annual Fraud Conference at the Cityplace Conference and Event Center in Dallas, TX. The scholarships are awarded to area University students in the Criminology or Accounting departments in an effort to raise fraud awareness. This year’s scholarship recipients are: Alyssa Berman, Marissa Paz, Mark Laury, Jennifer Okate, Jason Jiao, Daniel Tobin, Monica Mirea and Susan Houghtalin.

The contributions to the scholarship mark the first of a five-year commitment from the bank. A robust committee led for the last 12 years by Dr. Don McConnell has chosen the eight worthy scholarship recipients.

“Scholarship contributions like this are not only rewarding for the recipients, but are rewarding and uplifting for our entire banking team. As an organization that goes to great lengths to instill strong community-centric values throughout all aspects of our operations, we are proud to support the Happy Davis Scholarships, which also demonstrates a continued effort to support our communities," said Van Pardue, Regional President, Community Trust Bank. "We at Community Trust Bank are very concerned with fraud, so contributing scholarships on behalf of the Association of Certified Fraud Examiners was a simple decision and is homogeneous with our bank culture.”

The 2012 conference theme focuses on learning through the experience of others. One of the presenters at the conference will be Co-Chief Executive Officer and Co-Chairman of the Board of Directors of Energy Transfer Partners, Ray Davis, who will present attendees with his experienced insight into avoiding and recognizing investment swindles.

“The continued success of this conference can be largely attributed to organizations like Community Trust Bank and their support of our informative programs and scholarship opportunities for area students,” said Jeff Mathews, President of the Dallas Chapter Association of Certified Fraud Examiners. “We are very appreciative of the commitment Community Trust Bank has made, which will allow for our programs to have greater impact in Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex.”
With more than 50,000 members, The Association of Certified Fraud Examiners is the world's largest anti-fraud organization and a leader in providing anti-fraud training and education. The Cityplace Conference and Event Center is located at 2711 North Haskell Avenue, Suite 100, Dallas, Texas. Breakfast and registration will begin at 7:30 a.m., followed by a full-day seminar from 8:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.

For more information on how to register for the conference, or about the Association of Certified Fraud Examiners, visit

About Community Trust Bank

Community Trust Bank, a century year old, Louisiana-chartered bank, provides a wide range of traditional banking services with 30 banking centers throughout north Louisiana, north Texas, and north and central Mississippi. Community Trust Bank is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Community Trust Financial Corporation, a financial holding company with assets over $2.5 billion. Community Trust Financial Corporation’s common stock is not listed on any exchange and is traded through individually negotiated transactions. To learn more, visit Community Trust’s website at